• This article describes how your work is automatically saved to Hub, your PicMonkey cloud storage. Read more: What is Hub?
•If you are looking for help with where your downloaded files save on your computer drive, please go here: Choosing Where Downloads are Saved
Automatic save to Hub
When you select an image to edit from your desktop or from outside storage, it will open in PicMonkey with the existing title. Rename your file, if you wish, by clicking the file name on the top tool bar.
Use the "Saved to Hub" drop-down menu to choose a folder to stash it in, or to create a new folder.
Even if you don't rename your file or put it in a specific folder, it will still be saved to your Hub. Find it later in the Unsorted folder.
Changes are automatically saved as you work
The image you are working on in the Editor will periodically save as you edit. You will know that the latest changes/edits are saved when you see "Saved to Hub" in the top tool bar.
If instead of "Saved to Hub" you see "Saving now..." Hub is working on saving your image, so wait a couple seconds. Typically though, updating changes to Hub is nearly instantaneous.
Edit a Copy when you don't want to write over your past work
When you want to work on an image, but aren't sure you're ready to commit to changing the original, select "Edit a copy" from the File drop-down menu in the upper left of the top tool bar. This will copy the work in its current state to a new file, and load the new file in the Editor. The original will be safe in Hub, preserving what you've already done as a separate image. You can do this at anytime while you are editing.
You can also opt to Edit a Copy before you even get into the editor. For more on that see Opening Image You've Worked on Before.
When images DO NOT autosave
If you have a project open in the editor and select "Add image" from the top toolbar drop-down menu, or via the Photos & Videos tab on the left, these images will display under the Uploaded tab available for use during your editing/design session. When you end your session these images will not be saved separately to your hub. However if you've added them to your project, the whole project will be saved with images as project layers.